Home Menu Search

Queens Birthday Honours

18 June 2008

Congratulations to Professor Adrian Hobbs, who has been awarded a CBE in Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth’s Birthday Honours List.

The honour was awarded for Professor Hobbs’ services to road safety over several decades. Some of Adrian’s early research was central to the implementation of seatbelt legislation in the United Kingdom . In the 1990’s Adrian was instrumental in the development of a new, more demanding frontal impact test which became the legislative standard in Europe. He was then pivotal in the development of a new car assessment programme, which resulted in the birth of Euro NCAP in 1996. He became Euro NCAP Secretary General in 2003.

Congratulations to two people who have been great supporters of RoadSafe: Christopher Macgowan, formerly chief executive SMMT and Sarah Sillars, chief executive Institute of the Motor Industry, both receive OBEs.