Home Menu Search

Driving for Better Business Champions win at Fleet Safety Awards

3 October 2017

The Brake Fleet Safety Awards saw a number of Driving for Better Business Champions receive recognition for the excellent work they’ve done.

Company Driver Safety Award

For the organisation that has implemented initiatives that do most to promote and achieve safer driving among employees.

  • British Gas, Winner in the large fleet category
  • Skanska, Shortlisted and ‘Highly Commended’ in the large fleet category
  • Gateshead Council, Shortlisted and ‘Highly Commended’ in the medium fleet category
  • Iron Mountain, Shortlisted in the small fleet category

Eco Fleet Award

For the organisation that has done the most to improve safety and the environment by introducing green initiatives, such as innovative travel plans, scheduling, greener fuel and vehicles, and fuel efficient driving.

  • Gateshead Council, Winner

Dr Will Murray Award for Analysis and Action

For the organisation that has implemented the most effective procedures for carrying out risk assessments, crash data analysis, and using the data to introduce tailored interventions.

  • Balfour Beatty, Shortlisted and ‘Highly Commended’
  • Iron Mountain, Shortlisted
  • Royal Mail Group, Shortlisted

Fleet Safety Partnership Award

For the partnership of a fleet service provider or operator with another organisation that has delivered the most outstanding results to improve fleet safety.

  • British Gas, Winner
  • Johnson & Johnson and AIP, Shortlisted
  • Fleet Safety Product Award
  • British Gas, Shortlisted

Global Road Safety Award

For the organisation that has worked hardest to improve road safety for all road users in the communities it works in around the world. This organisation will have road safety at the heart of its corporate social responsibility ethos.

  • Johnson & Johnson, Winner
  • Iron Mountain, Shortlisted and ‘Highly Commended’

Safe Vehicles Award

For the organisation that has done the most to improve the safety of its vehicles, for instance through comprehensive and effective checking and maintenance procedures, vehicles specification and modification, and use of technology.

  • Skanska, Shortlisted and ‘Highly Commended’

Road Risk Manager of the Year Award

For the risk or fleet manager who has implemented exemplary road risk management policies with proven results.

  • Rory Morgan, Iron Mountain, Winner
  • Mark Bromhall, Royal Mail Group, Shortlisted and ‘Highly Commended’
  • Robert Lindsay, Balfour Beatty, Shortlisted
  • Alison Moriarty, Skanska, Shortlisted


Related news, events and information

Business champions win honours

19 May 2015 – British Gas and Iron Mountain win 2015 Fleet World Honours. Congratulations to the two business champions...

Prince Michael International Road Safety Awards

18 December 2012 – Among the winners of awards at the annual ceremony in London were: Iron Mountain and Volker Rail, two...

Annual PRAISE Awards

30 May 2012 – The annual PRAISE awards for road safety at work took place in Brussels on the 25th April 2012. The winner of...

Brake 2015 Fleet Safety Conference

27 April 2015 – Road safety charity Brake has announced the date for its annual Fleet Safety Conference in 2015. Brake is...

Fleet Van Award winners include business champions

24 September 2014 – Story from Fleet News. More than 400 people from the light commercial vehicle industry gathered at the...

Massive reduction in crashes and costs for Arval and Iron Mountain fleets

24 January 2018 – Arval and Iron Mountain are two of Driving for Better Business's longest standing business champions, having...

Fleet Safety Forum Awards

30 April 2010 – Organisations that have worked to improve fleet safety are being urged to enter the annual Fleet Safety Forum...

Business champion Arval wins national award

7 July 2010 – Fuel and fleet management company Arval, a Driving for Better Business champion, has been highly commended at...

European Transport Safety Council announces 2017 work-related road safety award winners

30 October 2017 – The European Transport Safety Council (ETSC) has announced the 2017 winners of the PRAISE awards, in...